Plenary Speakers

Simon Judd

Simon currently occupies an Industrial Chair in Environmental Engineering at Qatar University and is also Professor in Membrane Technology at the Cranfield Water Science Institute at Cranfield University in the UK, where he has been on the academic staff since August 1992. With over 27 years’ post-doctorate experience in academic and industrial R&D spanning all aspects of water and wastewater treatment technology, Simon has broad interests and a wide network of contacts within the water industry both nationally and internationally.  He has procured and managed many large, industrially-focused collaborative R&D programmes in the UK and the Gulf, particularly in membrane technology, and he has successfully supervised 32 research student programmes (22 at doctorate level). Simon has published extensively in the peer-reviewed research literature, with over 180 publications and an h index above 40 (SCOPUS). He has (co-)authored five textbooks in membrane and MBR technology and two in general water/wastewater treatment technology. Simon has delivered keynote presentations at many international conferences, and provided consultancy and bespoke courses across Europe, America, the Middle East and Far East. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry and Associate Fellow of the Institution of Chemical Engineers

Klaus-V. Peinemann.

Klaus-V. Peinemann has more than 30 years experience in the field of membrane research (academic and industrial). He coordinated a number of European and national membrane projects. From 2002 to 2004 K.-V. Peinemann served as President of the European Membrane Society and he is a co-founder of GMT Membrantechnik GmbH in Germany, which is now a leading company in Europe for the production of membranes for gas and vapor separation. K.-V. Peinemann is since 2011 Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering at the King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST) in Saudi Arabia. His research interests are: Multicomponent polymer-based membranes for liquid and gas separation; solvent-stable membranes for nanofiltration/reverse osmosis; self-assembled block copolymer membranes; catalytically active membranes; mixed matrix-membranes; gas and vapor separation; hollow fiber spinning.

João G. Crespo

Professor of Chemical Engineering at the Faculty of Sciences and Technology - Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal. Director of the Laboratory of Membrane Processes at iBET, Potugal. Former Vice-Rector for Research and Innovation at NOVA and former Coordinator of NOVA Doctoral School. Former Vice-President of the Portuguese National Science Foundation. Member of the editorial board of “Journal of Membrane Science”, “Journal of Biotechnology” and “Desalination and Water Treatment”. Member of “Academia de Engenharia”, Portugal. Founder of the spin-off company “Zeyton Nutraceuticals”.
Research Keywords: Membrane materials and processes; Bioseparations; Process monitoring.

Richard W. Baker

Dr. Richard Baker founded Membrane Technology and Research, Inc. (MTR) in 1982 and served as President for 25 years. In that time, MTR became a leading membrane research, development, engineering, and production company, concentrating on the development of membranes and membrane systems for industrially and environmentally significant separations. He is currently leading MTR’s new development program for membrane-based biomass/biofuel ethanol separations. Dr. Baker is the author of more than 100 papers and over 100 patents, all in the membrane area. Three editions of his book, Membrane Technology and Applications, were published in 2000, 2004 and 2012. He serves on the editorial board of the Journal of Membrane Science, was previously on the editorial boards of Industrial and Engineering Chemistry Research, The Journal of Controlled Release and Separation and Purification Technology. He served as editor of the NAMS quarterly newsletter for several years. Dr. Baker is founder and past president of the International Controlled Release Society, and co-founder of the North American Membrane Society (NAMS). In 2002, he was recipient of the first NAMS Alan S. Michaels Award for Innovation in Membrane Science and Technology.